HMO licence Telford and Wrekin: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

We found no additional or selective licensing scheme in force in Telford and Wrekin on the council's website as of 28 Sep 2026. Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: none foundAdditional HMO: none foundMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Telford and Wrekin licensing schemes in force or approved

We found no additional or selective licensing scheme in force on Telford & Wrekin Council's website as of 28 Sep 2026. Mandatory HMO licensing still applies to any HMO with 5 or more people in 2 or more households. Confirm with the council (council page).

Mandatory HMO licensing in Telford and Wrekin

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Telford and Wrekin HMO licence register

The council's public register of licensed properties: Telford & Wrekin Council public register. Use it to check whether a property already holds a licence, for example before you buy. Licences do not transfer to a new owner.

Telford and Wrekin Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Telford and Wrekin does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Telford and Wrekin

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Telford and Wrekin. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions3 (0 in the last 3 years)
Orders made3 (100% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£1,925
Total awarded£5,387
Civil penalty appeals2
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)100% · confirmed in full 0%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£8,000 / £4,549
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)2

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Telford and Wrekin

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
26 May 2020TF3House / not statednot extractedOrder made£587GOV.UK
16 Aug 2019TF3HMOunlicensed HMO; breach of banning orderOrder made£1,925GOV.UK
31 Jan 2018TF1House / not statedfailure to comply with improvement noticeOrder made£2,875GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Telford and Wrekin

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
21 Feb 2022TF2failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty varied£10,000£6,250GOV.UK
12 Oct 2021TF3failure to comply with improvement notice; HMO management regulationsPenalty varied£6,000£2,848GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Telford and Wrekin

Telford and Wrekin is in the West Midlands region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Dec 2026 and the deadline to register is 14 Mar 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Telford and Wrekin licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Telford and Wrekin licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Telford and Wrekin licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Telford and Wrekin?

We found no selective licensing scheme on Telford & Wrekin Council's website as of 28 Sep 2026. Mandatory HMO licensing still applies to 5+ people in 2+ households. Confirm with the council.

How much is an HMO licence in Telford and Wrekin?

We did not find a published fee on the council pages we checked. Mandatory HMO licence fees are set by each council, usually in two parts (application and grant). See the council page or our HMO licence cost guide.

Does Telford and Wrekin have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Telford and Wrekin does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

Where is the Telford and Wrekin HMO licence register?

The council publishes its public register of licences here: Telford & Wrekin Council register. Councils must keep a register of licences under section 232 of the Housing Act 2004.

How often do landlords in Telford and Wrekin face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 3 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Telford and Wrekin (3 with an order made), median award £1,925, and 2 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.