Selective licence Southend-on-Sea: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Southend-on-Sea has one discretionary licensing scheme on our record: selective licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: none foundMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Southend-on-Sea licensing schemes in force or approved

Selective licensing

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area
Runs1 Dec 2021 to 30 Nov 2026

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Note from our check: computed end 30 Nov 2026 - renewal status todo

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Southend-on-Sea

DateWhatSchemeSource
30 Nov 2026
estimated (start + 5 years)
in 63 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Southend-on-Sea

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Southend-on-Sea HMO licence register

We did not find an online public register for Southend-on-Sea. Every council must keep one (Housing Act 2004, s.232) and make it available for inspection; ask the council's private sector housing team.

Southend-on-Sea Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Southend-on-Sea does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Southend-on-Sea

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Southend-on-Sea. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions5 (4 in the last 3 years)
Orders made3 (60% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£2,611 (last 3 years: £2,611)
Total awarded£5,595
Civil penalty appeals3
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)100% · confirmed in full 0%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£14,000 / £8,150
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)5

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Southend-on-Sea

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
13 May 2026SS1House / not statedunlicensed HMO; unlicensed (selective licensing); unlawful eviction / harassment; failure to comply with improvement notice; violence for securing entryOrder made£2,611GOV.UK
16 Sept 2025SS1HMOunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£165GOV.UK
30 Aug 2025SS9House / not statedunlawful eviction / harassmentRefused—GOV.UK
6 May 2025SS1HMOunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£2,819GOV.UK
13 Jan 2022SS1HMOunlicensed HMORefused—GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Southend-on-Sea

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
5 Sept 2025SS1failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty varied——GOV.UK
29 Apr 2024SS0unlawful eviction / harassment; failure to comply with improvement notice; HMO management regulationsPenalty varied£16,000£11,300GOV.UK
28 Mar 2024SS2failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty varied£12,000£5,000GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Southend-on-Sea

Southend-on-Sea is in the East of England region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jan 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Apr 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Southend-on-Sea licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Southend-on-Sea licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Southend-on-Sea licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Southend-on-Sea?

Yes. in force until 30 Nov 2026 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in Southend-on-Sea?

We did not find a published fee on the council pages we checked. Mandatory HMO licence fees are set by each council, usually in two parts (application and grant). See the council page or our HMO licence cost guide.

Does Southend-on-Sea have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Southend-on-Sea does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

How often do landlords in Southend-on-Sea face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 5 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Southend-on-Sea (3 with an order made), median award £2,611, and 3 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.