Selective licence South Cambridgeshire: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

We found no additional or selective licensing scheme in force in South Cambridgeshire on the council's website as of 28 Sep 2026. Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: none foundAdditional HMO: none foundMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

South Cambridgeshire licensing schemes in force or approved

We found no additional or selective licensing scheme in force on South Cambridgeshire District Council's website as of 28 Sep 2026. Mandatory HMO licensing still applies to any HMO with 5 or more people in 2 or more households. Confirm with the council (council page).

Note from our check: criteria text not explicitly quoted; section contains no additional/selective scheme

Mandatory HMO licensing in South Cambridgeshire

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

South Cambridgeshire HMO licence register

The council's public register of licensed properties: South Cambridgeshire District Council public register. Use it to check whether a property already holds a licence, for example before you buy. Licences do not transfer to a new owner.

South Cambridgeshire Article 4 and HMO planning rules

South Cambridgeshire publishes Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, but none of its 9 published areas are labelled as an HMO direction. That does not prove there is no HMO Article 4 direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in South Cambridgeshire

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in South Cambridgeshire. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions3 (3 in the last 3 years)
Orders made2 (100% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£2,739 (last 3 years: £2,739)
Total awarded£5,479
Civil penalty appeals0

Recent rent repayment order decisions in South Cambridgeshire

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
27 Mar 2026SG8HMOunlawful eviction / harassmentOrder made£1,729GOV.UK
20 Jan 2025CB4House / not statednot extractedSee decision—GOV.UK
17 Oct 2024CB22House / not statednot extractedOrder made£3,750GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for South Cambridgeshire

South Cambridgeshire is in the East of England region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jan 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Apr 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a South Cambridgeshire licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a South Cambridgeshire licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

South Cambridgeshire licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in South Cambridgeshire?

We found no selective licensing scheme on South Cambridgeshire District Council's website as of 28 Sep 2026. Mandatory HMO licensing still applies to 5+ people in 2+ households. Confirm with the council.

How much is an HMO licence in South Cambridgeshire?

We did not find a published fee on the council pages we checked. Mandatory HMO licence fees are set by each council, usually in two parts (application and grant). See the council page or our HMO licence cost guide.

Does South Cambridgeshire have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

South Cambridgeshire publishes Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, but none of its 9 published areas are labelled as an HMO direction. That does not prove there is no HMO Article 4 direction: check the council's planning pages.

Where is the South Cambridgeshire HMO licence register?

The council publishes its public register of licences here: South Cambridgeshire District Council register. Councils must keep a register of licences under section 232 of the Housing Act 2004.

How often do landlords in South Cambridgeshire face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 3 rent repayment order decisions for properties in South Cambridgeshire (2 with an order made), median award £2,739, and 0 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.