HMO licence Rotherham: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Rotherham has one discretionary licensing scheme on our record: selective licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: none foundMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Rotherham licensing schemes in force or approved

Selective licensing · 2026-2031 six areas

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area
Designation made14 Nov 2025
Runs15 Feb 2026 to 14 Feb 2031
Fee£975

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Note from our check: Town Centre/Eastwood/Clifton/Boston Castle; Masbrough/Kimberworth; Thurcroft; Dinnington; Brinsworth; Parkgate. Fee per NRLA

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Rotherham

DateWhatSchemeSource
14 Feb 2031
in 1600 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Rotherham

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Rotherham HMO licence register

We did not find an online public register for Rotherham. Every council must keep one (Housing Act 2004, s.232) and make it available for inspection; ask the council's private sector housing team.

Rotherham Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Rotherham does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Rotherham

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Rotherham. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions2 (1 in the last 3 years)
Orders made1 (50% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£9,109
Total awarded£9,109
Civil penalty appeals0
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)3

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Rotherham

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
18 Dec 2025—House / not statednot extractedRefused—GOV.UK
24 Apr 2020S65House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£9,109GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Rotherham

Rotherham is in the Yorkshire and The Humber region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Apr 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Jul 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Rotherham licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Rotherham licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Rotherham licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Rotherham?

Yes. 2026-2031 six areas: in force until 14 Feb 2031 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in Rotherham?

Selective licensing: £975. Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.

Does Rotherham have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Rotherham does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

How often do landlords in Rotherham face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 2 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Rotherham (1 with an order made), median award £9,109, and 0 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.