HMO licence cost Newham: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Newham has 2 discretionary licensing schemes on our record: additional HMO licensing (in force), selective licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: yesMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Newham licensing schemes in force or approved

Additional HMO licensing · Additional HMO licensing No.1 2023

In force
Area coveredWhole area except listed wards (22 wards included)
Wards excludedRoyal Victoria, Stratford Olympic Park
Designation made22 Jun 2022
Runs1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2027
Fee£1,250 (Part A £400 + Part B £850)
per property
Discounts£50 accredited; £50 accredited + EPC C+; newly-PRS EPC C+ £800; nightly-paid TA £400
Wards included (22)

Beckton · Boleyn · Canning Town North · Canning Town South · Custom House · East Ham · East Ham South · Forest Gate North · Forest Gate South · Green Street East · Green Street West · Little Ilford · Manor Park · Maryland · Plaistow North · Plaistow South · Plaistow West & Canning Town East · Plashet · Royal Albert · Stratford · Wall End · West Ham

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Selective licensing · Selective licensing No.1 2023

In force
Area coveredWhole area except listed wards (22 wards included)
Wards excludedRoyal Victoria, Stratford Olympic Park
Designation made22 Jun 2022
Runs1 Jun 2023 to 31 May 2028
Fee£750 (Part A £400 + Part B £350)
per property; 2nd property onwards £700
Discounts£50 accredited; £50 accredited+EPC C+ (min £650); newly-PRS EPC C+ £400; nightly-paid TA £400
Wards included (22)

Beckton · Boleyn · Canning Town North · Canning Town South · Custom House · East Ham · East Ham South · Forest Gate North · Forest Gate South · Green Street East · Green Street West · Little Ilford · Manor Park · Maryland · Plaistow North · Plaistow South · Plaistow West & Canning Town East · Plashet · Royal Albert · Stratford · Wall End · West Ham

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Note from our check: council text "Wall End & West Ham" = 2 wards

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Newham

DateWhatSchemeSource
31 Dec 2027
estimated (start + 5 years)
in 459 days
scheme endAdditional HMO licensingcouncil
31 May 2028
estimated (start + 5 years)
in 611 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Newham

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Newham HMO licence register

The council's public register of licensed properties: London Borough of Newham public register. Use it to check whether a property already holds a licence, for example before you buy. Licences do not transfer to a new owner.

Newham Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Newham does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Newham

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Newham. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions73 (21 in the last 3 years)
Orders made54 (84.4% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£6,281 (last 3 years: £2,940)
Total awarded£363,765
Civil penalty appeals20
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)83.3% · confirmed in full 55.6%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£5,000 / £5,000
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)7

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Newham

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
23 Jul 2026E12HMOunlicensed HMO; unlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement notice; breach of banning orderOrder made£615GOV.UK
5 May 2026E7House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Refused—GOV.UK
20 Apr 2026E16HMOunlicensed HMOOrder made£1,800GOV.UK
5 Feb 2026E6HMOunlicensed HMOOrder made£5,390GOV.UK
27 Oct 2025E7House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£1,607GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Newham

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
19 Nov 2025E15unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty confirmed£5,000£5,000GOV.UK
18 Mar 2025E13breach of licence conditionsPenalty varied£5,000£1,000GOV.UK
27 Nov 2024E6unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty cancelled—£0GOV.UK
13 Feb 2024E7unlicensed HMO; unlicensed (selective licensing); breach of licence conditionsSee decision£7,500—GOV.UK
2 Feb 2024E16unlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement noticeSee decision£15,000—GOV.UK
26 Sept 2023E12breach of licence conditionsPenalty confirmed——GOV.UK
28 Nov 2022E15unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty confirmed£7,500£7,500GOV.UK
22 Aug 2022E16unlicensed (selective licensing); breach of licence conditionsPenalty confirmed£5,000£5,000GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Newham

Newham is in the London region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jul 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Oct 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Newham licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Newham licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Newham licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Newham?

Yes. Selective licensing No.1 2023: in force until 31 May 2028 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in Newham?

Additional HMO licensing: £1,250 (per property); Selective licensing: £750 (per property; 2nd property onwards £700). Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.

Does Newham have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Newham does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

Where is the Newham HMO licence register?

The council publishes its public register of licences here: London Borough of Newham register. Councils must keep a register of licences under section 232 of the Housing Act 2004.

How often do landlords in Newham face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 73 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Newham (54 with an order made), median award £6,281, and 20 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.