HMO licence Leeds: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Leeds has one discretionary licensing scheme on our record: selective licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: none foundMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Leeds licensing schemes in force or approved

Selective licensing · East, South and West Leeds 2026

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area (6 wards)
Designation made3 Nov 2025
Runs9 Feb 2026 to 8 Feb 2031
Fee£1,100
online (£1,225 paper); Part A/B split revised 26 Feb 2026 (second fee £700)
Discounts£150 Leeds Rental Standard members
Wards in the scheme (6)

Armley · Beeston & Holbeck · Burmantofts & Richmond Hill · Hunslet & Riverside · Gipton & Harehills · Farnley & Wortley

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Note from our check: end date per NRLA; parts of wards only - council ArcGIS layer Selective_licensing_Area_MK5a holds boundary

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Leeds

DateWhatSchemeSource
8 Feb 2031
in 1594 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Leeds

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Leeds HMO licence register

We did not find an online public register for Leeds. Every council must keep one (Housing Act 2004, s.232) and make it available for inspection; ask the council's private sector housing team.

Leeds Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Official planning data lists 1 HMO Article 4 area for Leeds. Inside these areas, turning a family house (use class C3) into a small HMO (C4) needs planning permission.

HMO Article 4 areaIn effect fromDocument
A4D0110 Feb 2012view

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Leeds

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Leeds. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions8 (2 in the last 3 years)
Orders made4 (57.1% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£5,881 (last 3 years: £900)
Total awarded£46,190
Civil penalty appeals26
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)100% · confirmed in full 31.6%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£7,875 / £7,500
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)15

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Leeds

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
10 Mar 2026LS9House / not statedunlawful eviction / harassment; failure to comply with improvement noticeRefused—GOV.UK
8 May 2025LS3HMOunlicensed HMOOrder made£900GOV.UK
6 Jul 2023LS13HMObreach of licence conditionsRefused—GOV.UK
4 May 2021LS6HMOunlicensed HMO; unlawful eviction / harassmentRefused—GOV.UK
9 Sept 2020LS25House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)See decision—GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Leeds

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
6 May 2026LS9unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty confirmed£30,000£30,000GOV.UK
23 Mar 2026LS8unlicensed (selective licensing); breach of licence conditions; unlawful eviction / harassmentPenalty varied—£10,500GOV.UK
2 Feb 2026LS11not extractedPenalty varied£5,250£4,750GOV.UK
16 Jan 2026LS9unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£16,500£12,000GOV.UK
7 Oct 2025LS11unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£3,117£6,800GOV.UK
6 Oct 2025LS11unlicensed (selective licensing); HMO management regulationsSee decision£3,211—GOV.UK
1 Oct 2025LS8unlicensed (selective licensing); breach of licence conditionsSee decision£7,500—GOV.UK
22 Sept 2025LS11unlicensed (selective licensing)See decision£3,145—GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Leeds

Leeds is in the Yorkshire and The Humber region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Apr 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Jul 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Leeds licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Leeds licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Leeds licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Leeds?

Yes. East, South and West Leeds 2026: in force until 8 Feb 2031 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in Leeds?

Selective licensing: £1,100 (online (£1,225 paper); Part A/B split revised 26 Feb 2026 (second fee £700)). Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.

Does Leeds have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Official planning data lists 1 HMO Article 4 area for Leeds. Inside these areas, turning a family house (use class C3) into a small HMO (C4) needs planning permission.

How often do landlords in Leeds face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 8 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Leeds (4 with an order made), median award £5,881, and 26 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.