HMO licence Haringey: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Haringey has 2 discretionary licensing schemes on our record: additional HMO licensing (in force), selective licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: yesMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Haringey licensing schemes in force or approved

Additional HMO licensing · Additional HMO licensing 2024-2029

In force
Area coveredWhole council area
Designation made12 Mar 2024
Runs17 Jun 2024 to 16 Jun 2029
Fee£1,360
per property +£50 per unit above 5 (LPL figure; council fee page bot-blocked)
Discounts£50 accredited; £50 EPC A-C (LPL)

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Selective licensing · Selective licensing 2022

In force
Area coveredListed wards only (14 wards)
Runs17 Nov 2022 to 16 Nov 2027
Fee£706 (Part A £412 + Part B £294)
per property 5 years
Discounts£50 off B accredited; £50 off B EPC C+; £75 off A per 2nd+ flat (3+ flats same block)
Late / penalty feeno valid EPC -> 1-year licence
Wards in the scheme (14)

Bounds Green · Bruce Castle · Harringay · Hermitage & Gardens · Noel Park · Northumberland Park · Seven Sisters · South Tottenham · St Ann's · Tottenham Central · Tottenham Hale · West Green · White Hart Lane · Woodside

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Haringey

DateWhatSchemeSource
16 Nov 2027
estimated (start + 5 years)
in 414 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil
16 Jun 2029
estimated (start + 5 years)
in 992 days
scheme endAdditional HMO licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Haringey

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Haringey HMO licence register

The council's public register of licensed properties: London Borough of Haringey public register. Use it to check whether a property already holds a licence, for example before you buy. Licences do not transfer to a new owner.

Haringey Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Haringey publishes Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, but none of its 25 published areas are labelled as an HMO direction. That does not prove there is no HMO Article 4 direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Haringey

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Haringey. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions46 (25 in the last 3 years)
Orders made31 (75.6% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£8,537 (last 3 years: £8,613)
Total awarded£354,304
Civil penalty appeals3
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)100% · confirmed in full 66.7%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£2,500 / £5,000
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)2

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Haringey

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
24 Jun 2026N17HMOunlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement noticeOrder made£12,480GOV.UK
27 Mar 2026N8House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing); unlawful eviction / harassmentOrder made£12,555GOV.UK
18 Mar 2026N15HMOunlicensed HMO; unlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£17,101GOV.UK
13 Mar 2026N15HMOnot extractedRefused—GOV.UK
12 Mar 2026N22House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing); unlawful eviction / harassmentRefused—GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Haringey

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
28 Jan 2026N17unlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement notice; breach of banning orderPenalty varied£1,000£500GOV.UK
12 Jan 2026N17unlicensed HMOSee decision£2,500—GOV.UK
4 Feb 2022N22unlicensed HMOPenalty confirmed£5,000£5,000GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Haringey

Haringey is in the London region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jul 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Oct 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Haringey licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Haringey licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Haringey licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Haringey?

Yes. Selective licensing 2022: in force until 16 Nov 2027 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in Haringey?

Additional HMO licensing: £1,360 (per property +£50 per unit above 5 (LPL figure; council fee page bot-blocked)); Selective licensing: £706 (per property 5 years). Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.

Does Haringey have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Haringey publishes Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, but none of its 25 published areas are labelled as an HMO direction. That does not prove there is no HMO Article 4 direction: check the council's planning pages.

Where is the Haringey HMO licence register?

The council publishes its public register of licences here: London Borough of Haringey register. Councils must keep a register of licences under section 232 of the Housing Act 2004.

How often do landlords in Haringey face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 46 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Haringey (31 with an order made), median award £8,537, and 3 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.