HMO licence Gateshead: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Gateshead has 3 discretionary licensing schemes on our record: selective licensing (in force), additional HMO licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: yesMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Gateshead licensing schemes in force or approved

Additional HMO licensing · Additional HMO licensing (phase 1 + phase 2 selective areas)

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area
Designation made18 Feb 2025
Runs1 Jun 2025 to 31 May 2030
Fee£976 (Part A £586 + Part B £391)
Discountsaccredited £75 off Part B; £10 per extra property applied together
Streets listed (16)

Bensham North/Windmill Hills · Bensham Central and West · The Avenues · Bensham South/Avenues North · Bensham West/Avenues · Beacon Lough East · Birtley/Birtley Industrial · Chopwell (North) · North Felling/Felling Shore Industrial · Derwentwater East · Derwentwater West/Racecourse Estate · Swalwell North/Metro Centre · Kelvin Grove · Felling Falla Park · Sunderland Road · Shipcote

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Details read from the council website via a summary tool because the page blocks automated reading. Please confirm on the council page.

Note from our check: NEW ROW: original table only noted this in selective notes

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Selective licensing · Phase 1 (8 areas)

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area
Designation made18 Feb 2025
Runs1 Jun 2025 to 31 May 2030
Fee£850 (Part A £510 + Part B £340)
Discountsearly bird £75 (3 months before start); accredited £75 off Part B; £10 per extra property applied together
Streets listed (8)

Bensham North/Windmill Hills · Bensham Central and West · The Avenues · Bensham South/Avenues North · Bensham West/Avenues · Beacon Lough East · Birtley/Birtley Industrial · Chopwell (North)

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Details read from the council website via a summary tool because the page blocks automated reading. Please confirm on the council page.

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Selective licensing · Phase 2 (8 areas)

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area
Designation made18 Feb 2025
Runs1 Oct 2025 to 30 Sept 2030
Fee£850 (Part A £510 + Part B £340)
Discountsearly bird £75 (3 months before start); accredited £75 off Part B; £10 per extra property applied together
Streets listed (8)

North Felling/Felling Shore Industrial · Derwentwater East · Derwentwater West/Racecourse Estate · Swalwell North/Metro Centre · Kelvin Grove · Felling Falla Park · Sunderland Road · Shipcote

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Details read from the council website via a summary tool because the page blocks automated reading. Please confirm on the council page.

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Gateshead

DateWhatSchemeSource
31 May 2030
in 1341 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil
30 Sept 2030
in 1463 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Gateshead

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Gateshead HMO licence register

The council's public register of licensed properties: Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council public register. Use it to check whether a property already holds a licence, for example before you buy. Licences do not transfer to a new owner.

Gateshead Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Gateshead publishes Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, but none of its 5 published areas are labelled as an HMO direction. That does not prove there is no HMO Article 4 direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Gateshead

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Gateshead. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions4 (2 in the last 3 years)
Orders made0 (0% of decisions with a known outcome)
Civil penalty appeals17
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)76.9% · confirmed in full 15.4%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£6,440 / £7,192
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)5

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Gateshead

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
15 Jul 2026NE39House / not statedfailure to comply with improvement noticeRefused—GOV.UK
7 Mar 2024FL0HMOnot extractedRefused—GOV.UK
22 Feb 2021NE8House / not statednot extractedSee decision—GOV.UK
3 Feb 2020NE8House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)See decision—GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Gateshead

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
31 Jan 2025NE9failure to comply with improvement notice; HMO management regulationsSee decision——GOV.UK
10 Dec 2024NE8unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty confirmed£7,383£7,383GOV.UK
26 Sept 2024NE16HMO management regulationsPenalty cancelled£14,233£0GOV.UK
8 Jan 2024—unlicensed (selective licensing); breach of licence conditionsPenalty varied£2,100£7,000GOV.UK
22 Jun 2022NE8unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£3,418£7,406GOV.UK
10 May 2022NE8unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty cancelled£4,871£0GOV.UK
29 Apr 2022NE8unlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty varied£6,489£5,750GOV.UK
23 Apr 2022NE8unlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty varied£8,300£12,175GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Gateshead

Gateshead is in the North East region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jun 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Sept 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Gateshead licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Gateshead licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Gateshead licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Gateshead?

Yes. Phase 1 (8 areas): in force until 31 May 2030 (part of the area); Phase 2 (8 areas): in force until 30 Sept 2030 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in Gateshead?

Additional HMO licensing: £976; Selective licensing: £850; Selective licensing: £850. Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.

Does Gateshead have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Gateshead publishes Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, but none of its 5 published areas are labelled as an HMO direction. That does not prove there is no HMO Article 4 direction: check the council's planning pages.

Where is the Gateshead HMO licence register?

The council publishes its public register of licences here: Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council register. Councils must keep a register of licences under section 232 of the Housing Act 2004.

How often do landlords in Gateshead face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 4 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Gateshead (0 with an order made), and 17 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.