HMO licence Enfield: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

Enfield has 2 discretionary licensing schemes on our record: additional HMO licensing (in force), selective licensing (in force). Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: yesMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

Enfield licensing schemes in force or approved

Additional HMO licensing · Additional HMO licensing 2025

In force
Area coveredWhole council area
Designation made12 Mar 2025
Runs1 Sept 2025 to 31 Aug 2030
Fee£1,450
per property (LPL figure, not council-verified)

Details read from the council website via a summary tool because the page blocks automated reading. Please confirm on the council page.

Note from our check: enfield.gov.uk 403 to scripts; fee unverified

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Selective licensing · 2026 scheme (Designations One and Two)

In force
Area coveredListed wards only (17 wards)
Designation made22 Apr 2026
Runs1 Sept 2026 to 31 Aug 2031
Fee£750 (Part A £450 + Part B £300)
per property
Discounts£50 off Part 2 accredited; £100 off Part 2 EPC C+; £100 off Part 1 for 2nd+ contiguous dwellings same block
Wards in the scheme (17)

Bowes · Brimsdown · Bullsmoor · Carterhatch · Edmonton Green · Enfield Lock · Haselbury · Jubilee · Lower Edmonton · Ponders End · Southbury · Upper Edmonton · Whitewebbs · New Southgate · Palmers Green · Southgate · Town

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Details read from the council website via a summary tool because the page blocks automated reading. Please confirm on the council page.

Note from our check: Designation One: Bowes..Whitewebbs (13); Designation Two: New Southgate, Palmers Green, Southgate, Town

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in Enfield

DateWhatSchemeSource
31 Aug 2030
estimated (start + 5 years)
in 1433 days
scheme endAdditional HMO licensingcouncil
31 Aug 2031
estimated (start + 5 years)
in 1798 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in Enfield

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

Enfield HMO licence register

We did not find an online public register for Enfield. Every council must keep one (Housing Act 2004, s.232) and make it available for inspection; ask the council's private sector housing team.

Enfield Article 4 and HMO planning rules

Official planning data lists 1 HMO Article 4 area for Enfield. Inside these areas, turning a family house (use class C3) into a small HMO (C4) needs planning permission.

HMO Article 4 areaIn effect fromDocument
Borough wide—view

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in Enfield

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in Enfield. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions9 (8 in the last 3 years)
Orders made7 (87.5% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£4,666 (last 3 years: £4,666)
Total awarded£41,591
Civil penalty appeals5
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)75% · confirmed in full 50%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£32,750 / £22,750
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)4

Recent rent repayment order decisions in Enfield

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
6 May 2026N9HMOunlicensed HMO; unlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£4,666GOV.UK
23 Mar 2026N18House / not statedunlawful eviction / harassment; violence for securing entryOrder made£14,400GOV.UK
8 Dec 2025N18HMOunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£2,957GOV.UK
12 May 2025EN3House / not statedunlicensed HMO; unlicensed (selective licensing); unlawful eviction / harassmentOrder made£3,468GOV.UK
3 Dec 2024N18HMOunlicensed HMO; unlicensed (selective licensing); unlawful eviction / harassment; failure to comply with improvement notice; breach of banning order; violence for securing entryOrder made£8,885GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in Enfield

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
28 Jul 2026N9unlicensed HMO; HMO management regulationsPenalty varied£55,500£35,500GOV.UK
28 Jan 2026N9not extractedPenalty confirmed——GOV.UK
21 Feb 2024EN3unlicensed HMO; unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty cancelled—£0GOV.UK
26 May 2023N9unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty confirmed£10,000£10,000GOV.UK
15 Nov 2022N21not extractedSee decision——GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for Enfield

Enfield is in the London region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jul 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Oct 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a Enfield licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a Enfield licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Enfield licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in Enfield?

Yes. 2026 scheme (Designations One and Two): in force until 31 Aug 2031 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in Enfield?

Additional HMO licensing: £1,450 (per property (LPL figure, not council-verified)); Selective licensing: £750 (per property). Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.

Does Enfield have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

Official planning data lists 1 HMO Article 4 area for Enfield. Inside these areas, turning a family house (use class C3) into a small HMO (C4) needs planning permission.

How often do landlords in Enfield face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 9 rent repayment order decisions for properties in Enfield (7 with an order made), median award £4,666, and 5 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.