HMO licence Durham: licensing schemes, fees and enforcement

County Durham has one discretionary licensing scheme on our record: selective licensing (in force). A new scheme is being consulted on or awaiting a decision. Mandatory HMO licensing applies everywhere in England to HMOs with 5 or more people in 2 or more households.

Selective: yesAdditional HMO: none foundMandatory HMO: alwaysChecked 28 Sep 2026

Free. Official data only. We don't store your postcode.

County Durham licensing schemes in force or approved

Selective licensing · 2022 scheme

In force
Area coveredPart of the council area
Runs1 Apr 2022 to 31 Mar 2027
Fee£585 (Part A £200 + Part B £385)
Discounts£435 (A £165/B £270) for holders of a licence on 1 Apr 2025 adding a property within 12 weeks

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

Upcoming: consultations and key dates in County Durham

Selective licensing · Proposed scheme from April 2027

Consultation closed – decision pending
Area coveredPart of the council area
Consultation— to 12 Aug 2026
Proposed feeNot published on the council page
proposed £550 early bird / £700 standard (NRLA)

Ward or street lists can split a road. Use the council's own address checker or designation map before relying on this list.

Note from our check: close date and fee from NRLA; additional: none (HMO page https://www.durham.gov.uk/article/2499/Multiple-occupancy-homes mandatory only)

Checked 28 Sept 2026.

DateWhatSchemeSource
31 Mar 2027
in 184 days
scheme endSelective licensingcouncil

Want a reminder before a deadline? Use the form at the bottom of this page and pick "Email me before my deadlines".

Mandatory HMO licensing in County Durham

Whatever the local schemes, a licence is required for any house in multiple occupation let to 5 or more people forming 2 or more households who share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. This rule is national and has applied since 1 October 2018. Letting without a required licence is a criminal offence under section 72 of the Housing Act 2004. Read do I need an HMO licence? and how to apply.

County Durham HMO licence register

The council's public register of licensed properties: Durham County Council public register. Use it to check whether a property already holds a licence, for example before you buy. Licences do not transfer to a new owner.

County Durham Article 4 and HMO planning rules

County Durham does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

Licensing and planning are separate. A licence does not give planning permission, and planning permission does not replace a licence. See Article 4 and HMOs.

Tribunal record: rent repayment orders and civil penalties in County Durham

Figures below count First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) decisions published on GOV.UK for properties located in County Durham. They show how tenants and the council use enforcement here. Most civil penalties are paid without appeal, so they never reach the tribunal.

Rent repayment order decisions6 (2 in the last 3 years)
Orders made2 (33.3% of decisions with a known outcome)
Median award£2,765 (last 3 years: £941)
Total awarded£5,530
Civil penalty appeals10
Penalty upheld (in full or reduced)100% · confirmed in full 11.1%
Median penalty: council's notice / after tribunal£12,500 / £5,500
Other Housing Act appeals (licence terms, notices, orders)1

Recent rent repayment order decisions in County Durham

DecidedAreaPropertyOffence allegedOutcomeAmountDecision
17 Aug 2025DL14House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£941GOV.UK
3 Jun 2025DH6House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Refused—GOV.UK
17 Sept 2020SR8House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Order made£4,589GOV.UK
10 Dec 2019SR8House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Refused—GOV.UK
6 Dec 2019SR8House / not statedunlicensed (selective licensing)Refused—GOV.UK

Recent civil penalty appeals in County Durham

DecidedAreaOffenceOutcomeCouncil's penaltyAfter tribunalDecision
13 May 2026DH9not extractedPenalty varied£11,000£4,000GOV.UK
5 May 2026DL4unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty confirmed£21,000£21,000GOV.UK
2 Mar 2026SR8unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£12,500£30,000GOV.UK
23 Feb 2026SR8unlicensed (selective licensing); failure to comply with improvement noticePenalty varied£30,000£18,000GOV.UK
20 Feb 2026DH3unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£12,500£2,500GOV.UK
9 Dec 2025DH8unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£18,000£5,500GOV.UK
20 Nov 2025DH6unlicensed (selective licensing)Penalty varied£4,500£3,000GOV.UK
14 Aug 2025DH7unlicensed (selective licensing)See decision£17,500—GOV.UK

Amounts and outcomes are extracted automatically from the decision text and can be wrong; open the decision on GOV.UK for the full reasons. Party names are not shown. Information, not legal advice.

If you have let without a licence you needed, read unlicensed property: what to do, rent repayment orders and civil penalties.

Landlord database deadline for County Durham

County Durham is in the North East region of the new Private Rented Sector Database. Registration opens 15 Jun 2027 and the deadline to register is 14 Sept 2027. The published fee is £65 per property per year. Database registration is separate from council licensing: you may need both. See register your rental property.

Get help with a County Durham licence application

We can prepare a licence application for you for a fixed fee; the council's own fee is separate. See pricing for what is included and how we make money. You can also run a full address check on the postcode checker.

Help with a County Durham licence

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

County Durham licensing: common questions

Is there selective licensing in County Durham?

Yes. 2022 scheme: in force until 31 Mar 2027 (part of the area). Check the council's map or address checker to confirm your street.

How much is an HMO licence in County Durham?

Selective licensing: £585. Fees for mandatory HMO licences are set by the council and published on its fees page.

Does County Durham have an Article 4 direction for HMOs?

County Durham does not publish Article 4 data to the national planning data platform, so we cannot tell you from official data whether an HMO Article 4 direction applies. Absence of data is not absence of a direction: check the council's planning pages.

Where is the County Durham HMO licence register?

The council publishes its public register of licences here: Durham County Council register. Councils must keep a register of licences under section 232 of the Housing Act 2004.

How often do landlords in County Durham face rent repayment orders or fines?

The First-tier Tribunal has published 6 rent repayment order decisions for properties in County Durham (2 with an order made), median award £2,765, and 10 civil penalty appeals. Most penalties are never appealed, so the true number of fines is higher.

Related: selective licensing in England · additional HMO licensing · HMO licence cost · HMO rules · HMO hub

Sources

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Licensing schemes change often; always confirm with the council before you act.