Stratford-on-Avon second home council tax

Stratford-on-Avon District Council's own website records a 100% second homes premium from 2027-04-01. It was not being charged at 6 October 2025.

£2,484

Average Band D council tax in Stratford-on-Avon, 2026/27, including county, police, fire and average parish precepts.

£4,968

Band D as a second home with the 100% premium.

828

homes classed as second homes on Stratford-on-Avon's tax base at October 2025; 0 paying the premium.

Second home bill by band in Stratford-on-Avon (2026/27 estimate)

BandNormal billAs a second home
A£1,656£3,312
B£1,932£3,864
C£2,208£4,416
D£2,484£4,968
E£3,036£6,072
F£3,588£7,176
G£4,140£8,281
H£4,968£9,937

Estimated from the council's average Band D. Your parish precept changes the figure slightly. The Stratford-on-Avon council element (including parish) rose 3.3% from 2025/26 to 2026/27.

Council decision we checked: decided (from 2027-04-01). Council source · checked 28 September 2026

Empty homes premium in Stratford-on-Avon

Stratford-on-Avon charged an empty homes premium at October 2025 on 278 long-term empty homes. Premium rates recorded by MHCLG:

Empty forPremium
1–2 yearsNot reported separately
2–5 years100%
5–10 yearsNot reported separately
10 years +Not reported separately

Holiday lets on business rates in Stratford-on-Avon

The 2026 business rates list has 363 self-catering holiday lets in Stratford-on-Avon, with a median rateable value of £2,800; 99% have a rateable value of £12,000 or less. A holiday let pays business rates instead of council tax if it was available to let for at least 140 nights and actually let for at least 70 nights in the last 12 months.

Exceptions you can apply for

The premium should not apply if the home falls in a national exception class, for example: an annexe (Class F), actively marketed for sale or let (Classes G and H, up to 12 months), recently granted probate (Class I, up to 12 months), a job-related home (Class J), or a seasonal home that planning rules stop being used as a main home (Class L). Apply to Stratford-on-Avon District Council with evidence. All exception classes and rules.

If the property is let to a tenant as their main home, it is not a second home. For landlord duties in Stratford-on-Avon, see licensing in Stratford-on-Avon and the landlord database (your region: West Midlands, register by 14 March 2027).

Question about a property in Stratford-on-Avon?

We may refer legal matters to an SRA-regulated solicitor and may receive a referral fee; we will tell you before any referral. See how we make money.

Check a postcode

Licensing, database deadline, EPC and council tax for one address: postcode check.

Related guides

Sources

Data: MHCLG Council Tax levels 2026-27 (Table 10); Council Taxbase 2025 (at 6 October 2025); VOA 2026 rating list. Premium status as at those dates plus the council page shown; confirm the current position with Stratford-on-Avon District Council.

Last checked 28 Sep 2026. Information, not legal advice. Official pages change; follow the source link before you act.